DO NOT send another Gmail message until you’ve made a little adjustment to your inbox.

0

DO NOT send another Gmail message until you’ve made a little adjustment to your inbox.

If you use Gmail to send emails to friends, family, and coworkers on a daily basis, it’s worth double-checking your settings before sending any more.

Before sending any additional messages through the popular email service, all Gmail users should double-check their settings. That’s because there’s a simple adjustment that might save you a lot of shame.

We’ve all sent an email message that we afterwards regretted once the “send” button was pressed. It might be a typo in an email to your boss or comments made in the heat of the moment that should have been kept in your brain rather than written down in black and white.

Fortunately, there is a way to retrieve a message that has been sent across the internet, but you’ll need to make some adjustments in order for this Gmail feature to be useful.

According to The Verge, the default settings for Gmail’s “Unsend” feature are only five seconds, which doesn’t give you much time to consider what was said or recall the message.

However, after something has been sent to a contact, it’s fairly simple to adjust this choice and give oneself some breathing room.

To modify things up, go to your inbox’s settings and touch “See all options.” From there, tap General and look for the Undo Send option.

Simply click on the drop-down box to swap from 5 seconds to a variety of additional time options such as 10, 20, and 30 seconds.

Of course, you’ll still need to be quick to remember what was just stated, but 30 seconds is a lot better than Google’s threshold of five seconds.

This isn’t the only change that Gmail users should be aware of.

That’s because Google just announced another important update geared at making it easier for users of its service to identify authentic emails, with businesses like banks being allowed to include a verified logo in all of the communications they send out.

Consider it akin to Twitter’s iconic blue tick, which indicates that the account has received a thumbs up from the platform. “Brinkwire News in Condensed Form.”

Share.

Comments are closed.