Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sadio Mane crowned PFA Fans’ Player of the Year after starring role in Liverpool’s 99-point season

Liverpool’s dominance in the end of season awards continued after Sadio Mane was announced as the PFA’s Fans Player of the Year for 2019-20.  

With captain Jordan Henderson being awarded the Football Writers’ Association Men’s Footballer of the Year award and full-back Trent Alexander-Arnold winning Premier League Young Player of the Season, Mane was the latest individual from Jurgen Klopp’s title-winning side to be recognised. 

But it appears fans, the media and the Premier League all look back on 2019-20 differently with Henderson taking the award from football writers’, Mane getting the fans’ vote and the Premier League awarding it to Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne.  

�� Huge congratulations to Sadio Mané!

Winner of the PFA @BristolStMotors Fans’ Player of the Year ������ #LFC @LFC #PFAFansAward

The Senegalese once again played a starring role on the left side of the Reds’ attack and was key to their title win, finishing with 18 goals and seven assists as they raced to 99 points. 

And in a poll of fans from across the UK, Mane took 41 per cent of the vote for this award. 

That saw him come out ahead of De Bruyne, who took 27 per cent, and team-mate Trent Alexander-Arnold, who won 17 per cent of the vote. 

The award which was won by De Bruyne also saw Mane and Henderson nominated and yet no player has emerged as a unanimous selection for the individual accolades. 

Henderson became the 12th Liverpool player to claim the individual FWA prize in July and the first since Mohamed Salah just two years ago but he has since been pipped in the Premier League Player of the Season and PFA Fans’ Player of the Year voting.  

On the pitch, Henderson has been inspirational, cajoling his Liverpool team-mates into securing their first league title in 30 years.

Henderson scored four times in 30 appearances, but has been a talismanic figure in raising the standards of his team-mates to secure the earliest league title in Premier League history. 

Mane could yet do the double in the PFA awards as he is on a list of six nominees to win the PFA Player of the Year award.

Along with team-mates Alexander-Arnold and Virgil van Dijk, Mane faces competition from Manchester City pair De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling, as well as Leicester City striker and Golden boot winner Jamie Vardy. 

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp was announced as the Premier League’s Manager of the Season after leading Liverpool to their first league title in three decades.

The Anfield giants spectacularly dethroned City after finishing 18 points clear at the top of the table – and even managed to ensure the trophy would be heading to Merseyside with seven games to spare.

Klopp fended off competition from peers Frank Lampard, Chris Wilder and Brendan Rodgers to clinch yet another gong at the end of a historic campaign.  

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *