Pep Guardiola vs. Jose Mourinho – the final countdown for the top collectors of the trophy begins


After Manchester City met Tottenham in the Carabao Cup final, Pep Guardiola and Jose Mourinho are seeking to build on their excellent record in major finals. On such occasions, the two rival managers have won 22 of 26 games, with the League Cup a particularly happy hunting ground.

Pep GuardiolaPep Guardiola has a 10-1 win-loss record in major finals, while Jose Mourinho is 12-3 (PA chart) in his first season as manager of the senior team of Barcelona set the tone for Guardiola’s record in major finals, winning the Copa Del Rey and Champions League – along with LaLiga. In his managerial career, he won 10 out of 11, leading Barca to a second win in each of those knockout competitions and Bayern Munich to two DFB-Pokal victories before joining City. FA Cup: Won – 2018-19League Cup: Won – 2017-18, 2018-19, 2019-20Copa Del Rey: Won – 2008-09, 2011-12; Lost – 2010-11DFB Pokal: Won – 2013-14, 2015-16Champions League: Won – 2008-09, 2010-11Since then, he has added to his extensive trophy collection an FA Cup and three League Cups, which now also includes eight league titles in Spain, Germany and England, a number of Super Cups and Community Shield Cups. However, it is worth noting that his only defeat in a major final came on one such occasion in his only previous meeting with Mourinho, when the extra-time goal of Cristiano Ronaldo gave Real Madrid victory over Barca to win the 2011 Copa Del Rey. Jose Mourinho Today, nine years ago, we won our 18th Copa del Rey! On April 20, 2011, we won 1-0 in a dramatic extra time at the Mestalla against @FCBarcelona! #RMHistory | #RMFansEnCasa Real Madrid C.F. (@realmadriden) April 20, 2020 After brief stints at Benfica and Uniao de Leiria, Mourinho won the treble with his move to Porto in January 2002, when, in addition to the league title, his side won the Portuguese Cup and the then-UEFA Cup. The team won the Champions League the following season, but lost the national cup final, which earned Mourin a move to Chelsea FC, where, in his first tenure, he won the FA Cup and two League Cups, while his team always finished in the top two in the Premier League. FA Cup: Won – 2006-07; Lost – 2017-18League Cup: Won – 2004-05, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2016-17Copa Del Rey: Won – 2010-11; Lost – 2012-13Coppa Italia: Won – 2009-10Taca de Portugal: Won – 2002-03; Lost – 2003-04Champions League: Won – 2003-04, 2009-10Europe League/UEFA Cup: Won – 2002-03, 2016-17Coppa Italia: Won – 2009-10Taca de Portugal: Won – 2002-03; Lost – 2003-04Champions League: Won – 2003-04, 2009-10Europe League/UEFA Cup: Won – 2002-03, 2016-17 He has won more League Cups with Chelsea and Manchester United since returning to England, as well as losing a Europa League and FA Cup final with the latter, bringing an overall record of 12 wins and three losses in major finals. Jose Mourinho, front, and Chelsea celebrate winning the Capital One Cup in 2015 (Nick Potts/PA) In seven League Cup finals, Mourinho and Guardiola have played between them, winning all seven – a record with something to play for in April. In the competition, Mourinho has more wins – Chelsea beat Liverpool in 2005 and Arsenal in his first spell in 2007 and Spurs in 2015 after his return. The win of Manchester United over Southampton in 2017 marked the fourth time that Mourinho lifted the trophy. The last three Carabao Cups (Mike Egerton/PA) were won by Pep Guardiola and Manchester City. However, Guardiola and City dominated the competition late, and certainly go to the game as favorites. The Spaniard is aiming for a fourth consecutive League Cup victory after wins against Arsenal, Chelsea and Aston Villa.


Leave A Reply