Following his withdrawal from the US Open, Andy Murray is backed by great tennis coach Stefanos Tsitsipas.
When Stefanos Tsitsipas took a long restroom break during their five-set US Open blockbuster, Andy Murray accused him of “cheating.”
Andy Murray and Stefanos Tsitsipas’ first-round battle at the US Open has sparked controversy, according to a prominent tennis teacher. When the third seed took a long toilet break at the end of the fourth set, the Brit accused him of “cheating,” and later admitted he “lost respect” for his opponent. Brad Gilbert has spoken out against the current regulations that allow the Greek to leave the court for a long length of time.
Following his five-set loss to Tsitsipas, Murray was enraged, accusing the world No. 3 of “cheating.”
The 2012 US Open winner got out to a good start, leading by a set and eventually led the Greek by two sets to one.
After losing the fourth set to the third seed, Tsitsipas took a long restroom break, involving both the chair umpire and ATP Supervisor Gerry Armstrong in a debate while waiting for his opponent to return to the court.
Murray proceeded to make disparaging remarks about Armstrong throughout the fifth set, eventually losing the match after being broken in the opening game of the decisive final set.
Murray confessed he had “lost respect” for the 23-year-old after the match, saying something needed to be done about the regulation allowing players unlimited time on their restroom breaks.
Brad Gilbert, a well-known tennis coach and commentator, has now backed him up. Gilbert also performed an on-court interview with Tsitsipas after the match.
Gilbert, who coached Andre Agassi, Andy Roddick, and even Murray for a while, claimed he “hated” the regulation.
“I really despise the rule on change of gear that there is no time restriction established, no way should you be allowed more than 5 minutes to play the following point it extends well into 10 minutes to often,” he tweeted during the game.
The amount of bathroom breaks a player can take throughout a match is currently regulated, but not the length of such breaks.
In a best-of-three competition, only one break is allowed, but in a best-of-five match, two breaks are allowed. Tsitsipas recently generated controversy in Cincinnati when he fought with the umpire after he was denied the opportunity to use the second lavatory. “Brinkwire News in Condensed Form.”