As Andy Murray defends himself, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal give their verdicts on underarm serves.

0

Andy Murray surprised the crowd by hitting an underarm serve ace against Carlos Alcaraz during their second round clash in Indian Wells.

Andy Murray recreated one of Nick Kyrgios’ signature tennis shots for the first time on a match court, as he served an underarm ace en route to a second-round victory in Indian Wells. Having lost the opening set to 30th seed Carlos Alcaraz, the former world No 1 pulled out the trick shot near the beginning of the second set and managed to win the point. Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal previously gave their views on whether the underarm serve was a valid shot, as Murray has not ruled out using it again.

Murray was serving at 1-1 in the second set of his clash against Alcaraz in Indian Wells on Sunday when he surprised everyone by serving underarm for what is believed to be the first time in his career.

The Brit had just lost the first set after leading by a break and even holding match points on the Spaniard’s serve at 5-4, when he decided to go for it and surprise his 18-year-old opponent.

It was the perfect first attempt for Murray, who earned an ace to hold serve for 2-1 in the second, before going on to win the match in what has been regarded as one of his best wins since undergoing hip resurfacing surgery in 2019.

The three-time Grand Slam champion has since defended his decision to use the controversial shot made popular by Kyrgios, and has not ruled out the possibility of hitting an underarm serve in the future.

“If you look where he was standing at the beginning of the match to return the first serve in comparison to he changed that at the end of the first set. He started returning from further back, so it was even harder to get free points on the serve,” Murray said, defending his decision to use the serve.

“I thought if he’s going to stand that far back and I’m getting no love from the court and the conditions, why not try it and see if I can bring him forward a little bit again. Wasn’t expecting obviously to get an ace out of it.”

The current world No 121 also admitted he’d try it again if he ever found. “Brinkwire Summary News”.

Share.

Comments are closed.