How to witness Virgin Galactic’s launch today – “the dawn of a new era in space”

0

How to witness Virgin Galactic’s launch today – “the dawn of a new era in space”

VIRGIN GALACTIC is preparing to launch its first crewed mission into orbit. Learn how to watch the historic space launch live online right now.

Sir Richard Branson, the founder of Virgin, is ready to become the world’s first billionaire to enter space, 16 years after launching his space tourism company. Virgin Galactic is scheduled to launch from New Mexico’s Spaceport America this afternoon, weather permitting (July 11).

The Virgin Galactic launch was announced earlier this month with the goal of outrunning Jeff Bezos’ Blue Origin.

The former Amazon CEO is also scheduled to fly to space later this month, and his firm has taken umbrage at being overshadowed.

Sir Richard will go on the VSS Unity SpaceShipTwo spaceplane.

The crew of four flight professionals and two pilots will be transported to a height of around 56 miles, where they will experience four minutes of weightlessness.

The good news is that you can watch the launch from the comfort of your own home by watching it live online.

The mission may be seen in the attached video above, courtesy of Virgin Galactic.

The voyage will be streamed live on YouTube from start to finish, letting you to experience – at least in part – the thrills of spaceflight.

“Join us on July 11 for our first fully crewed rocket-powered test flight, and the dawn of a new space age,” Virgin Galactic added.

“Our team of two pilots and four mission professionals, including Sir Richard Branson, will be aboard #Unity22.

“They’ll put our Future Astronaut spaceflight experience to the ultimate test while offering the rest of the world a sneak peek at the life-changing adventure.”

The stream was supposed to start at 2 p.m. BST (9 a.m. EDT/7 a.m. MDT/6 a.m. PST).

The flight has been rescheduled for 3.30pm BST (10.30am ET/8.30am MT/7.30am PT) owing to overnight weather in the launch region.

The VSS Unity is likely to launch anytime after that, based on prior test flights.

The VMS Eve aircraft will carry the rocket-powered spaceship high into the atmosphere first.

Unity will detach and its engines will fire after reaching a height of at least 10 miles (15 kilometers).

The spaceship will be propelled to a height of around 56 miles (90 kilometers), where the passengers would feel weightless.

At the same time, the VMS Eve will return to Spaceport America to await the arrival of the VSS Unity.

According. “Brinkwire News in Condensed Form.”

Share.

Leave A Reply