Astronomers agree on the universe’s birthday – 13.77 billion years old.


From an observatory high above the Atacama Desert in Chile, astronomers have taken a new look at the universe’s oldest sun.

Their measurements and a bit of celestial geometry show that the universe is 13.77 billion years old – 40 million years giving or taking.

One of the two articles on the results, which adds a new twist to an ongoing controversy in the astrophysics community, was co-authored by a Cornell researcher.

The new calculation, based on data from the Atacama Cosmology Telescope (ACT) of the National Science Foundation, is consistent with the Standard Universe Model and the Planck satellite of the European Space Agency, which estimated the remnants of the Big Bang from 2009 to ’13.

The thesis was published in the Journal of Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics on Dec. 30, 2020.

Steve Choi, NSF Astronomy and Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellow at the Cornell Center for Astrophysics and Planetary Science, College of Arts and Sciences, is the lead author of’ The Atacama Cosmology Telescope: A Calculation of the Cosmic Microwave Background Power Spectra at 98 and 150 GHz.’

A research team analyzing the movements of galaxies estimated in 2019 that the universe is hundreds of millions of years younger than predicted by the Planck team.

This disparity suggested that there might be a need for a new model for the universe, and caused fears that one of the series of measurements might be incorrect.

“Now we’ve found an answer where Planck and ACT agree,” said Simone Aiola, a researcher at the Center for Computational Astrophysics at the Flatiron Institute and lead author of one of the two articles. “This suggests that these difficult measurements are reliable.”

Reference: Steve K.’s “The Atacama Cosmology Telescope: a measurement of the Cosmic Microwave Background power spectra at 98 and 150 GHz”

Choi, Matthew Hasselfield, Shuay-Pwu Patty Ho, Marius Lungu, Brian Koopman, Maximilian H.

Graeme E, Abitbol.

Peter A. R. Addison,

Ade, Simone Aiola, David Alonso, Mandana Amiri, Elio Angile, Stefania Amodeo, Jason E.

Austermann, Nick Battaglia, Taylor Baildon, James A.

Rachel Bean, Beall, Daniel T.

Becker, J. Richard Bond, Sarah Marie Bruno, Victoria Calafut, Erminia Calabrese and Luis E.

Felipe Carrero, Campusano, Grace E.

Hsiao-mei Cho, Chesmore, Susan E.

Clark, Nicholas F.

Devin Crichton, Cothard, Kevin T.

Crowley, Darwish Omar, Datta Rahul, V Edward.

Denison and Mark J.

Cody J, Devlin.

Shannon M. Duell,

Adriaan J, Duff.

Jo Dunkley, Rolando Dünner, Duivenvoorden, Thomas Essinger-Hileman, Max Fankhanel, Simone Ferraro, Anna E.

Fox, Brittany Fuzia, Patricio A. Gallardo, Vera Gluscevic, Joseph E. Golec, Emily Grace, Megan Gralla, Yilun Guan, Kirsten Hall, Mark Halpern, Dongwon Han, Peter Hargrave, Shawn Henderson, Brandon Hensley, J.

Colin Hill, Gene C. Hilton, Matt Hilton, Adam D. Hincks, Renée Hložek, Johannes Hubmayr, Kevin M. Huffenberger, John P. Hughes, Leopoldo Infante, Kent Irwin, Rebecca Jackson, Jeff Klein, Kenda Knowles, Arthur Kosowsky, Vincent Lakey, Dale Li, Yaqiong Li, Zack Li, Martine Lokken, Thibaut Louis, Amanda MacInnis, Mathew Madhavacheril, Felipe Maldonado, Maya Mallaby-Kay, Danica Marsden, Loïc Maurin, Jeff McMahon, Felipe Menanteau, Kavilan Moodley, Tim Morton, Sigurd Naess, Toshiya Namikawa, Federico Nati, Laura Newburgh, John P. Nibarger, Andrina Nicola, Michael D. Niemack, Michael R. Nolta, John Orlowski-Sherer, Lyman A. Page, Christine G. Pappas, Bruce Partridge, Phumlani Phakathi, Heather Prince, Roberto Puddu, Frank J. Qu, Jesus Rivera, Naomi Robertson, Felipe Rojas, Maria Salatino, Emmanuel Schaan, Alessandro Schillaci, Benjamin L. Schmitt, Neelima Sehgal, Blake D. Sherwin, Carlos Sierra, Jon Sievers, Cristobal Sifon, Precious Sikhosana, Sara Simon, David N. Spergel, Suzanne T. Staggs, Jason Stevens, Emilie Storer, Dhaneshwar D. Sunder, Eric R. Switzer, Ben Thorne, Robert Thornton, Hy Trac, Jesse Treu, Carole Tucker, Leila R. Vale, Alexander Van Engelen, Jeff Van Lanen, Eve M. Vavagiakis, Kasey Wagoner, Yuhan Wang, Jonathan T.

Edward J. Ward.

DOI: 10.1088/1475-7516/2020/12/045. Wollack, Zhilei Xu, Fernando Zago, and Ningfeng Zhu, Journal of Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics, 30 December 2020.


Leave A Reply