The EU is fed up with America’s refusal to allow Europeans to visit the country… Now it’s time for retaliation.


The EU is fed up with America’s refusal to allow Europeans to visit the country… Now it’s time for retaliation.

THE UNITED STATES has been removed from the EU’s approved travel list as a result of a lack of “reciprocity” in Brussels.

The European Union has pulled the United States from its list of safe travel destinations, less than three months after it was included. Travelers from the United States who have not been vaccinated may now face further restrictions, preventing them from visiting Europe for non-essential reasons.

While the rise in instances is part of the reason the US was removed from the white list of nations open for travel, the absence of concessions for EU citizens also played a role.

COVID-19 cases have risen quickly in recent weeks in the United States, with 339 infections per 100,000 persons reported in the last seven days.

This is more than four times the level set by Brussels for countries to be added to the white list, which is 75 cases per 100,000.

Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, and North Macedonia were also removed off the list in the EU’s most recent update.

The countries of the bloc are not required to follow these suggestions, and many have imposed their own travel restrictions.

“The decision is primarily because of the increasing Covid infection issue in the US, but Washington’s determination to keep restrictions for Europeans all summer has made it all that much easier,” an EU ambassador said of the US being taken from the travel list.

Frustrations have grown in Brussels after the United States refused to relax any regulations for Europeans traveling to the United States.

According to White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki, the US is in the process of establishing its overseas travel policy.

Anyone over the age of two who travels to the United States is required to show documentation of a negative Covid test done within three days of travel.

Travelers who have spent the previous 14 days in the United Kingdom, Ireland, the Schengen zone, Iran, Brazil, China, or South Africa are not permitted to enter or transit the United States.

Ursula von der Leyen, the President of the European Commission, requested the United States to suspend its travel ban in early August.

She claimed that the virus’s status in the EU and the US was “quite comparable.”

Ms von der Leyen went on to say that the US-EU dispute would not “drag on for weeks.”

Ylva Johansson, EU Commissioner for Home Affairs, met with Homeland Security officials. “Brinkwire News in Condensed Form.”


Comments are closed.