Press "Enter" to skip to content

SA’s three new cabinet ministers


* Vincent Tarzia (Police, Emergency and Correctional Services): First elected to parliament in 2014 when he took the seat of Hartley from Labor. Became something of a hero in the Liberal Party when he saw off a challenge from high-profile independent Nick Xenophon to retain the seat in 2018 and was rewarded with the speaker’s role in parliament under the new government. Mr Tarzia worked in the financial, legal and commercial sectors prior to politics.

* David Basham (Primary Industries and Regional Development): The experienced dairy farmer was first elected to parliament as the member for Finniss in 2018. Before becoming an MP he served for more than a decade as president of the South Australian Dairyfarmers’ Association and more recently was president of the peak national body, Australian Dairy Farmers. He also served on the Fleurieu Regional Development Board.

* Stephen Patterson (Trade and Investment): A former AFL player who pulled on the black and white colours for Collingwood in 96 games, Mr Patterson was first elected to parliament in 2018 as the member for Morphett. He cut his political teeth in local government as a councillor and later mayor of the City of Holdfast Bay. Mr Patterson trained as an electrical engineer and previously ran his own software engineering company.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *