Press "Enter" to skip to content

LPGA to use rankings, earnings lists for Women’s US Open

The Women’s U.S. Open field will be set using a new set of exemptions necessitated by the coronavirus pandemic.

The USGA released 20 exemption categories that would guide the selection of the 144-player field at Champions Golf Club in Houston on Dec. 10-13.

“Our guiding principle throughout this process was to put a criteria together that really resembled fields of the past,” said Shannon Rouillard, USGA senior director of championships.

In addition to permitted the top 20 points leaders among amateurs, the top 75 women in the Rolex World Rankings as of March 16 are exempt in 2020 — compared to the top 50 last year.

Players in the top 10 on the LPGA money list as of Nov. 11 will qualify if they haven’t already earned exemption, and the top five from the Symetra Tour are exempt.

“We feel it is so important for us to conduct the Women’s Open, and this one especially, with it being a milestone year for the Women’s Open, the 75th anniversary,” Rouillard said. “That really means a lot to us, and we know it means a lot of women’s professional golf as well.”

The top five players on the money lists for international tours — Korea LPGA, Japan LPGA — and the top three on the China LPGA Tour are also exempt.

A complete list of exempt players for the 2020 US Women’s Open to date:

Winners of the U.S. Women’s Open Championship the last 10 years (2010-2019): Jeongeun Lee6, Ariya Jutanugarn, Sung Hyun Park, Brittany Lang, In Gee Chun, Michelle Wie, Inbee Park, Na Yeon Choi, So Yeon Ryu, Paula Creamer.

From the 2019 U.S. Women’s Open Championship, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place: Celine Boutier, Jaye Marie Green, Mamiko Higa, Jessica Korda, Jeongeun Lee6, Yu Liu, Ally McDonald, Gerina Piller, So Yeon Ryu, Lexi Thompson, Angel Yin.

Winner of the 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship: Gabriela Ruffels.

Winners of the 2019 U.S. Girls’ Junior and U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur Championships and the 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship Runner-up (must be an amateur): Lei Ye, Ina Kim-Shaad. (Albane Valenzuela would’ve also been exempt, but she turned pro.)

Winners of the ANA Inspiration Championship the last five years (2016-2020): Jin Young Ko, Pernilla Lindberg, So Yeon Ryu, Lydia Ko.

Winners of the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship (five-year exemption) (2016-2019): Hannah Green, Sung Hyun Park, Danielle Kang, Brooke Henderson.

Winners of the Evian Championship the last five years (2015-2019): Jin Young Ko, Angela Stanford, Anna Nordqvist, In Ghee Chun, Lydia Ko

Winners of the AIG Women’s British Open Championship the last five years (2015-2019): Hinako Shibuno, Georgia Hall, In-Kyung (I.K.) Kim, Ariya Jutanugarn, Inbee Park.

The top 30-point leaders from the 2019 LPGA Race to the CME Globe Final Points: Brittany Altomare, Celine Boutier, Carlota Ciganda, Shanshan Feng, Hannah Green, Nasa Hataoka, Brooke Henderson, Mi Jung Hur, Sung Hyun Park, Eun-Hee Ji, Ariya Jutanugarn, Moriya Jutanugarn, Danielle Kang, Hyo Joo Kim, Sei Young Kim, Jin Young Ko, Jessica Korda, Nelly Korda, Bronte Law, Minjee Lee, Jeongeun Lee6, Yu Liu, Gaby Lopez, Caroline Masson, Azahara Munoz, Su-Hyun Oh, Inbee Park, Lizette Salas, Lexi Thompson, Amy Yang.

Winners of LPGA co-sponsored events, whose victories are considered official, from the conclusion of the 2019 U.S. Women’s Open Championship to the originally scheduled 2020 U.S. Women’s Open Championship (June 1-7): Lexi Thompson, Brooke Henderson, Hannah Green, Sung Hyun Park, Shanshan Feng, Sei Young Kim, Jin Young Ko, Hinako Shibuno, Mi Jung Hur, Jin Young Ko, Hannah Green, Mi Jung Hur, Cheyenne Knight, Danielle Kang, Ha-Na Jang, Nelly Korda, Ai Suzuki, Sei Young Kim, Gaby Lopez, Madelene Sagstrom, Hee Young Park, Inbee Park.

Winner of the 2019 The Women’s Amateur Championship staged by The R&A (must be an amateur): Emily Toy.

From Week 11 (March 16) of the Rolex Rankings, the top 75-point leaders and ties. J.Y. Ko, N. Korda, S.H. Park, N. Hataoka, D. Kang, S.Y. Kim, B. Henderson, M. Lee, L. Thompson, J.E. Lee6, I. Park, H. Shibuno, H.J. Kim, A. Suzuki, C. Ciganda, J. Korda, A. Jutanugarn, S.Y. Ryu, L. Salas, M.J. Hur, H. Green, A. Yang, S. Feng, H.J. Lim, C. Hull, J.Y. Shin, H.J. Choi, B. Altomare, M. Alex, D.Y. Lee, H.N. Jang, A.Y. Cho, S.W. Bae, B. Law, Y. Liu, C. Masson, M. Jutanugarn, E.H. Ji, G. Hall, A. Yin, L. Ko, J. Kupcho, M. Sagstrom, A. Olson, M.J. Park, S.M. Lee, I.G. Chun, M. Pressel, S.H. Oh, S.J. Ahn, M. Inami, A. McDonald, N.K. Madsen, Y. Kawamoto, M. Ueda, J.M. Cho, S.Y. Lee, A. Park, M. Katsu, N.B. Larsen, A. Ernst, A.L. Kim, M. Higa, J. Y2 Kim, C.Y. Park, C. Choi, J. Yan.

Top five LET members from the final 2019 LET Order of Merit and the top five money leaders from the final 2019 Japan LPGA and Korea LPGA Tours: Esther Henseleit, Marianne Skarpnord, Christine Wolf, Nuria Iturrioz, Meghan MacLaren, Ai Suzuki, Hinako Shibuno, Jiyai Shin, Seon Woo Bae, Min-young2 Lee, Hye Jin Choi, Ha Na Jang, Da Yeon Lee, Hee Jeong Lim, A-yean Cho

Top three money leaders from the 2019 China LPGA Tour: Weiwei Zhang, Yan Liu, Mohan Du.

Special exemptions as selected by the USGA: Brittany Lincicome, Sarah Jane Smith (Maternity Extensions).

–Field Level Media

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *