Coronavirus Scotland: Greece, with the exception of five Greek islands on the Scottish quarantine list.



Greece and parts of Cyprus have been placed on Scotland’s quarantine list.

Travelers entering Scotland from Greece this weekend – with the exception of the islands of Crete, Corfu, Kos, Rhodes and Zante – and the territories of Cyprus of Akrotiri and Dhekelia will be expected to arrive in quarantine for 14 days.

The Scottish Government has reported that the decision to remove the excluded status has resulted in a substantial increase in coronavirus cases in these regions, as well as an increase in the number of positive test cases and the associated risk of introduction into Scotland.

However, Bahrain, Cambodia, Chile, Iceland, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, the Turks and Caicos Islands and Laos will, upon arrival in Scotland, be added to the list of quarantine-exempt destinations.

At 4 a.m., all these changes will take effect. From Saturday.

“It is imperative that we disrupt the spread of this virus, which remains a major challenge in Scotland and around the world,” Justice Minister Humza Yousaf said.

Imposing quarantine restrictions is our first line of protection to manage the danger of imported cases from populations at high risk of transmission.

In the coming week, the situation on the Greek and Spanish islands, especially the Canary Islands, will be closely monitored, as the number of cases is a cause for concern.

“The addition of nine more countries to the list of countries exempt from quarantine restrictions should not be taken as a signal that people should travel abroad,” he said.

“Our message remains clear that people should think very carefully before committing to non-essential travel abroad, as the public health situation, and therefore our response to it, can change rapidly.”

The step follows what the Scottish government identifies as a “significant increase” in coronavirus cases in these regions, as well as an increase in the number of positive test cases.

Meanwhile, the existing additional restrictions on Denmark will remain in force for a further 14 days, but will be checked if new information on the progress of the Danish authorities in controlling the outbreak becomes available.


Leave A Reply