NHS charity single for Scots Trad Music Awards winners



At this year’s Scots Trad Music Awards, a charity single written, recorded and performed as a tribute to NHS employees received an award.

As musicians from Scotland’s traditional music scene were honored for brilliant performances and exceptional launches, the annual event aired last night.

The NHS charity single “Everyday Heroes,” which was named “Original Work of the Year.” was among the deserving winners on last night’s broadcast.

“pay tribute to the hundreds of thousands of NHS staff, volunteers and key workers who risk so much to fight Covid-19 and keep us all safe.”pay tribute to the hundreds of thousands of NHS employees, volunteers and key workers who risk so much fighting Covid-19 and keeping us all safe.

The track features a number of the greatest trading artists in Scotland, including all members of Skerryvore, Innes Scott of Peat and Diesel, BBC Take the Floor host and Mànran Gary Innes member, Tide Lines’ Robert Robertson, Red Hot Chilli Pipers’ Harry Richards, Skipinnish’s Angus MacPhail and Rory Grindlay, fellow Tiree band Trail West’s Ian Smith and Seonaidh Macintyre, Mhairi Marwic

Awards supporter Stuart Fleming, Senior Membership Manager Scotland & Northern Ireland, PRS for Music said, “Congratulations to all the nominees and winners celebrated at this year’s MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards, including Skerryvore for winning Original Work of the Year.

“The incredible Everyday Heroes, written to raise proceeds for the NHS Charities Together COVID-19 Urgent Appeal, will no doubt have brought hope to many people in 2020.”

This year’s event was initially planned to take place at Caird Hall in Dundee, but two special programs, hosted by Alistair Heather and Mary Ann Kennedy, were produced with live music and event constraints in place for the near future.

Award winners were named by some of the top luminaries in traditional music, including the Iona Fyfe Trio, Project Smok, Deirdre Graham, Jarlath Henderson and Karen Matheson, as well as Phil Cunningham and many more, along with specially recorded musical performances.

“The Trads have once again shown the best in creativity and talent from across Scotland,” said Ealasaid MacDonald, Director of Policy & External Relations at title sponsor MG ALBA. MG ALBA would like to congratulate all the entries, candidates and winners because they were part of a very different year in which music was an integral part of our lives.

“We are delighted that Hands Up for Trad has brought us all together for this wonderful opportunity to celebrate the best of traditional music.”

The awards program also honored three pillars of the Scottish music community: James Robertson was awarded with the Janet Paisley Services to Scots Language Award, sponsored by Creative Scotland; John Smith won the Services to Gaelic Award, sponsored by Bòrd na Gàidhlig; and Lisa Whytock received the 2020 Hamish Henderson Award for Services to Traditional Music.

Daibhidh Boag of Bòrd na Gàidhlig said, “We are proud to once again support this award, and I congratulate and thank John Smith on behalf of Bòrd na Gàidhlig for his commitment to language through his work on television.”

His contribution to Gaelic culture is invaluable and, with his work at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig on Skye, he continues to inspire young Gaelic speakers.’

To represent all that the entire industry has generated through Covid-19, the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Award Winners & Sponsors have been revised for 2020:

The Year’s Collection, funded by Birnam CD.

Hamish Napier’s The Forests

Funded by PRS for Songs, Original Work of the Year

Heroes of Everyday by Skerryvore

Project of the Year for Community Music, funded by Greentrax Recordings

Tunes at the Hoose

Funded by VisitScotland, Event of the Year

Award for 20th Anniversary Concert by BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician (Celtic Connections)

Supported by The Highland Society of London, Gaelic Singer of the Year

NicChoinnich Fionnag (Fiona MacKenzie)

Musician of the Year, funded by Highlands and Islands University

Tim Edey Tim Edey

Year 2020 Online Results, funded by the Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust

Covid Ceilidh of Duncan Chisholm

Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year for musicians who perform in the Scots language, funded by the Traditional Music and Song Association (TMSA),

Miller Siobhan

Sponsored by Threads of Sound, Trad Video of the Year

Calum Dan’s Transit Van, by Peat & Diesel

Trad Music in the Media, promoted


Leave A Reply