Secret iPhone function remembers EVERYWHERE you’ve ever been

iPHONE USERS are being tracked everywhere they go without their knowledge

A feature in Apple’s iOS operating system logs every location users visit. The feature is there to help the phone learn which places are ‘significant’ to you in order – according to Apple – to provide you with personalised services, “such as predictive traffic routing, and to build better Photos Memories”.

The data is encrypted and stored only on your device, and Apple insist that it will never be shared without your consent, so no outsiders should ever have access to your significant locations.

Even if a friend is using your iPhone, they can’t get into the significant locations list without first getting past a Face ID or Touch ID lock first, so the data’s pretty safe.

But if you ever want to check what your iPhone knows about where you’ve been, or if you want  clear your history or deactivate the system altogether, here’s what you need to do:

1.  Launch the Settings app on your iPhone

2.  Tap on the Privacy section.

3.  Click on Location Services

4.  Scroll to the very bottom of the page

5.  Tap on System Services

6.  Go to the Significant Locations tab

7.  Log in with Face ID, Touch ID or your passcode

Once you’ve logged in, you’ll see a long list of cities you’ve visited.

You can tap on each of the cities individually to get a more detailed breakdown of the locations you’ve visited, and see them on a map.

You’ll also be able to see when you’ve visited them and how many times.

It may even highlight your ‘Home’ and ‘Work’, which should be your most-visited destinations.

If that all feels a bit intrusive, and you’d like to wipe the slate clean, you can hit the “clear history” button to wipe all the locations collected so far.

You can also switch off “significant locations” at the top of the menu, to stop Apple collecting this information altogether.

loading...