Ronnie O’Sullivan KICKS OFF at referee in Gamers Championship remaining: ‘TERRIBLE twice now’

RONNIE O’SULLIVAN was left frustrated by the referee again at the Players Championship today.

The Rocket’s final showdown with Neil Robertson saw him brand the officiating “terrible” due to the placement of the black ball.

The black had to be re-spotted during the afternoon session at Guilds Hall in Preston.

O’Sullivan has already found fault with the officiating during the Players Championship this week as well as the playing conditions of the hard tables.

And during just the second frame today, the five-time world champion faced controversy.

O’Sullivan questioned the referee’s positioning of the black just as he was in the midst of a solid frame.

He had been in a position before to pot it to the left corner but suddenly became blocked upon the repositioning by some of the red balls.

O’Sullivan was not happy and it turned out he was right with his claim when it was reviewed. 

And he was heard saying to Camilleri: “It goes now because I’ve had to tell you. 

“Terrible. Twice, I’ve had to tell you – twice”

Ronnie O’Sullivan

“Terrible. Twice, I’ve had to tell you – twice.”

Camilleri stayed calm and replied: “Just play the shot please.”

On the discussion between O’Sullivan and the official, commentator Clive Everton said: “O’Sullivan expects the highest standards of himself and from everybody with who he comes in contact in the game.”

Stephen Hendry – a long-term rival of O’Sullivan – added: “It’s the referee’s fault at the end of the day. 

“Whether Ronnie should have got involved in the way that he did remains to be seen.”

The two get back underway in the evening session tonight at around 7pm which will bring the conclusion to the tournament.

At the interval, O’Sullivan lead Aussie Robertson 7-2 in the final, which is best of 19.

O’Sullivan was not put off by earlier’s incident it seems, with the score now 8-4, he needs just two frames to clinch the title.

loading...