Nigeria’s ruling party loses 4 federal parliamentarians

Party-switching fever in full swing ahead of Nigeria’s general elections next February

Nigeria's ruling party loses 4 federal parliamentarians

By Rafiu Ajakaye

LAGOS, Nigeria

Nigeria’s ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday lost four more parliamentarians to opposition parties, the second-highest defection this year, further depleting its ranks ahead of the crucial February 2018 general elections.

Three of the House of Representatives members — Dada Awoleye (Oyo), Lawali Hassan and Adedapo Lam-Adesina — were from southwest Oyo, while the fourth — Segun Williams — came from the southwest Ogun state.

Awoleye defected to the little-known Accord Party, Hassan left for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Williams pitched tent with the Labor Party, and Lam-Adesina left for the newly formed Action Democratic Congress.

In July, 37 members of the House of Representatives left the ruling party for various parties, with the PDP getting the largest number of defectors.

But the ruling APC has also received defectors from other parties, including the PDP, in a massive political realignment that is common come election seasons in Africa’s largest democracy.

Most of the defectors had lost reelection bids in their party primaries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *