Myanmar’s ruling party wins in by-election

YANGON, Nov. 5 (Xinhua) — The ruling National League for Democracy (NLD) of Myanmar has won nearly half of the 13 parliamentary seats in Saturday’s by-elections, according to the final results released by the Union Election Commission late Sunday.

Of the 13 parliamentary seats contested in the election, the NLD won six seats – two with the House of Representatives (Lower House) and four with the region parliaments so far, the release said.

The NLD’s two won seats with the House of Representatives cover Yangon region’s Tarmwe constituency and Mandalay region’s Mingyan constituency, while the other four seats with region parliaments are each in Mandalay region’s Shan ethnic constituency, Bago region’s Okktwin constituency, Mandalay region’s Thabeikkyin constituency and Magway region’s Minbu constituency respectively.

Meanwhile, the Union Solidarity Development Party (USDP) won three seats – one with the House of Nationalities (Upper House) in Kachin state’s Myitgyina constituency and two with region parliaments in Sagaing region’s Tamu and Yangon region’s Seikkan constituencies respectively.

The Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD) secured one seat with the House of Representatives in Shan state’s Laikha constituency, while Chin National League for Democracy (CNLD) and an individual candidate gained one seat each for the state parliaments in Chin state’s Matupi constituency and Rakhine state’s Yethedaung constituency.

The name of the winning party for one vacant seat in House of Representatives for Chin state’s Kanpetlet constituency has not been announced yet.

A total of 69 candidates competed for the 13 parliamentary seats left vacant in nine regions and states where as many as 1,383 polling stations were set up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *