IECC Under Fire Over Paktia ‘Candidate’

Almost a month after the Independent Electoral Complaints Commission (IECC) disqualified 35 parliamentary election candidates, a watchdog has found that the commission added a name to the list of a person who is not actually running. 
Electoral watchdogs say it shows the “inattention” of the commission over properly assessing the candidate list.  
Nawid Ibrahimkhail is listed as a candidate but sources within the Independent Election Commission in Paktia have confirmed that no one from Paktia filed nomination papers to run in the elections by that name.
“This is shameful,” said former IEC chief Najibullah Ahmadzai.
“Technical preparations are not completed. There is no political consensus on the issue. The security forces have not categorized secure and insecure areas,” said Naeem Ayubzada, an election expert.
But, the IECC officials said the name of the candidate is Nawid Ahmad Ibrahimkhel and that he was nominated from Kabul.
The IECC said the issue has been resolved.
“With consideration of the fact that this is a big and national process, naturally the process would have some challenges in the view of the situation we have in Afghanistan,” said Sayed Hafiz Hashemi, spokesman for the Independent Election Commission.
Meanwhile, former governor of northern Balkh Atta Mohammad Noor warned that Jamiat-e-Islami party, of which he is chief executive, will never accept a fraudulent election.
“We are determined to stand against it if the elections are not held in a transparent way, we don’t want our brothers to struggle, get votes and the results become something else,” said Noor.
On August 11, the Independent Electoral Complaints Commission removed 35 names from the candidate. 
The IECC assigned a special committee to investigate possible links of some candidates with illegal armed groups, as well as their involvement in security issues, organized crime, drug smuggling and misuse of public and private assets.
According to the IECC, the following names have been removed from the final list of parliamentary candidates.
•    Mohibullah, Ahmad Shah Shams, Amanullah Hotaki from Uruzgan;
•    Abdul Rahman Shaheedani from Bamiyan;
•    Fawzia Kofi, Maryam Kofi, Mohammad Nabi Bayan and Abdul Samad Abdul Hameed from Badakhshan;
•    Assadullah Sharifi from Balkh;
•    Sayed Jafar Naderi, Assadullah Islamzoi and Hayatullah Wafa from Baghlan;
•    Ghulam Haidar Jailani and Noor Ahmad Sikandar from Parwan;
•    Allah Mir and Nawid Ibrahimkhail from Paktia;
•    Bashir Qanet and Assadullah Ayub from Takhar;
•    Liyaqatullah Babakarkhail and Jabar Jabarkhail from Khost;
•    Masooma Khawari, Mohammad Asif Azimi and Raees Khairullah from Samangan;
•    Sakhi Nawid from Faryab;
•    Qais Hassan, Mawlawi Tarakhail, Sayed Daud Naderi, Sedaqat Zahid, Ziaulhaq Amarkhail, Ehsanullah Atif, Shir Ali Ahmadzai and Zardad Faryadi from Kabul;
•    Shayista Baz Naseri from Kunduz;
•    Akbar Stanekzai from Logar;
•    And Jawed Zaman from Nangarhar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *