Exit poll banned for local elections in 5 Indian states until Dec. 7

NEW DELHI, Nov. 10 (Xinhua) — India’s election commission has banned the exit poll from Nov. 12 to Dec. 7 in the poll-bound states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana, officials said Saturday.

Local elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases, Nov. 12 and Nov. 20, while in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram, elections would be held during a single phase on Nov. 28. Likewise, elections in Rajasthan and Telangana would be held on Dec. 7.

“Conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing the result of exit poll by means of the print or electronic media or in any other manner is to be prohibited,” an election commission official said, citing a recent order.

“Displaying any election matter including results of opinion poll or other poll survey in any electronic media would also be prohibited during 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll,” the official added.

The commission has directed its top officials in the poll-bound states to bring the directive in notice of news bureaus, media houses, radio stations and television channels in their respective states.

The counting of votes in all the five states would be carried out on Dec. 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *