A video shows how gummy candy is really made — and it might make you think twice about eating it

gummy bears
The process of making gummy candy might surprise you.

Tons of people love gummy candy, but not everyone knows how it’s made.

gummy candy

A Belgian filmmaker uploaded a video showing how gelatin, an ingredient found in most gummy candies, is made from animal parts.

gelatin

Gelatin, while off-putting, is actually not unhealthy.

Gelatin

Gummy candy is one of the more popular candy choices out there, and it isn’t hard to see why. With adorable shapes and a sweet taste, gummies seem like an innocent and fun treat.

But some fans may be surprised to find out that the way gummy candy is made could be considered unappetizing, some might even say gruesome.

Thanks to gelatin, gummy candy is usually not vegan.

Gelatin gives gummy bears their bounce.

Vegans probably already know that one of the main ingredients in gummy candy is usually gelatin.

According to Live Science, gelatin is “a collection of long, stringy animal-based proteins called collagen, which bond together in three-stranded helical structures — similar to the two-stranded helices of DNA.” To make gelatin, animal parts like bones, horns, and skin are boiled for an extended period of time.

Gelatin is odorless and tasteless and therefore added to foods like gummy candy and Jell-O to make them bouncy and rubbery. According to Bon Appetit, it’s elastic and is “perfect for adding a bit of semi-solid jiggle to things that would otherwise be runny liquids.”

A Belgian filmmaker made a video documenting how gelatin is made.

To help you understand more thoroughly how your favorite candy’s ingredient is made, Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens created a short film that shows, in detail, how gelatin and gummy candies are made. Kneepkens shows us the footage in reverse, beginning with someone happily eating gummies and ending with the pigs in which gelatin is sourced from. The video is hard to watch and is certainly not for those who have sensitive stomachs — or anyone who ever wants to enjoy gelatin candy again.

This is only one video in a series Kneepkens created called “Over Eten” (On Food). Each video shows a series of reversed images to reveal the truth and backstory about a food item you eat on a regular basis without thinking twice about. There are also videos on sugar, black pudding, lamb burgers, pastries, and mozzarella, just to name a few.

Gelatin isn’t actually unhealthy.

Although the process of creating gelatin is stomach-churning, the ingredient itself isn’t unhealthy.

Medical News Today reported that it contains many amino acids, and can have health benefits similar to those you would get from collagen, which is currently a huge trend in the health food world.

As Medical News Today states, “The amino acids found in gelatin are also usually found in the bones and organs of certain animals. Since most people do not eat those parts of the animal, adding gelatin to a varied and nutritious diet may be beneficial.”

Still, it’s going to be hard for many people to continue enjoying the candy after watching a video showing the details of how it was made. And unfortunately, gelatin not limited to just Jell-O and gummy bears. Gelatin can also be found in marshmallows, some cheeses, yogurts, some frozen vegetables, milk substitutes, and even in some vitamins and medications.

There are vegan alternatives to gelatin.

If you want to avoid gelatin forever from now on, be on the lookout for it on product food labels. You also don’t need to give up gummy candies and marshmallows forever. Look for vegan options, like marshmallows from Trader Joe’s or gummy candies that contain “agar,” which is a popular substitute for gelatin taken from algae.

loading...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *